The Naomi C. Turner Prize

This award is for the best paper presented by a graduate student at the annual conference (this is a student ONLY award). The prize was endowed by WAPOR past president Fred Turner in memory of his mother.

Submission: Students who have had their paper accepted for presentation at the upcoming 73rd Annual Conference (to be announced by April 1), should submit their completed paper for the awards above electronically using MS-Word or PDF format, by 5 p.m. (PST) on Wednesday, July 1, 2020 to  Entries should be approximately 15 to 25 pages in length and may have multiple authors. All authors on an entry must meet the eligibility requirements for the award. Please include each author’s name, telephone number and email address. WAPOR reserves the right to not award prizes.

Past Award Winners

1995 – Salma I. Ghanem, USA
1996 – Andreina Mandelli, Italy
1997 – None awarded
1998 – Dietram A. Scheufele, USA
1999 – None awarded
2000 – Gregor Petric, Slovenia
2001 – Yariv Tsfati, USA
2002 – Seung-Ahn Nah and Hernando Rojas, USA
2003 – Lilach Nir, USA
2004 – Yufen Chen, USA; Honorable Mention: Homero Gil de Zúñiga, USA
2005 – Roei Davidson, USA
2006 – None Awarded
2007 – Joerg Matthes, Switzerland
2008 – Sebastián Valenzuela, USA
2009 – Martin Degen, Anja Obermüller and Anna-Maria Schielicke, Germany; Honorable Mention: Stefan Geiss, Germany
2010 – Wenlin Liu, USA
2011 – Dmitriy Poznyak, Belgium
2012 – Yu Won Oh and Rebecca Yu, USA
2013 – None awarded
2014 – Mathias Weber and Christina Koehler, Germany
2015 – Marko Kovic, Switzerland
2016 – Alexander Kustov, USA
2017 – Sehrish Mushtaq and Fawad Baig, Germany
2018 – Rosa Seitz and Fabio Votta, Germany
2019 – no winner