2022 WAPOR Call for Nominations

WAPOR seeks nominations for two offices to be filled in elections to be held this year.

Chair of the Professional Standards Committee. Maintains, monitors, and works to improve professional standards in public opinion and survey research. The committee promotes the WAPOR Code of Ethics, guides any relevant task forces and/or initiatives, and provides members with resources on professional ethics and best practices. S/He works as a liaison to other associations in the field and is responsible for the continued work on the Freedom to Publish Opinion Polls report. This council position is a two-year term and runs 1 Jan 2023 to 31 Dec 2024.

Vice President/President-Elect. Serves on the WAPOR Council for a total of six years beginning 1 Jan 2023—two as Vice President, two as President, and two as Past President. The Vice President/President-Elect acts as the President’s deputy and is a member of the Executive Council. As President, s/he works with WAPOR Council to advance the organization’s mission. The President oversees both strategic and operational efforts that include, but are not limited to, personnel training and exchange, international polls, research development, advancement of the field, and task forces on the conduct and use of polls in elections. 

The WAPOR Constitution requires that the President and Vice President/President-Elect be from different countries. Consequently, members from Hong Kong are ineligible for consideration.

Nominations of WAPOR members, including self-nominations, are due to Renae Reis by August 19, 2022. All nominations should mention the name of the nominee, his/her qualifications, and the position of interest. A web link or document should accompany the nomination. Only nominations from WAPOR members are eligible for consideration.

Please note that only WAPOR members with dues paid as of September 1st, 2022, will have the right to vote.

Information about the electoral process:

WAPOR’s General Secretary is responsible for the electoral process and the Past President is in charge of setting up an electoral committee. The composition of the committee must reflect, as much as possible, the diversity of WAPOR’s membership. However, the committee cannot know all of the members who might be qualified and interested candidates in all regions of the world, thus we strongly encourage you to suggest names of people whom you think could be good candidates for the two offices on the Council.

The committee’s role is to examine all the suggestions that it receives from members and, taking into consideration the essential diversity that we seek on the Council, as well as availability and qualifications, propose two or more candidates for each office. The committee is not limited to the members’ suggestions, it can also seek candidacies. The electoral committee will try to propose slates of candidates that will respect WAPOR goals, and help it grow everywhere and in all the fields in which our organization is or should be active.