Elizabeth H. Nelson Prize

This prize is presented to the best paper written and presented at the annual conference by one or more persons from a society in transition (tiers B or C). This prize was endowed by WAPOR past president Liz Nelson. Liz was president of WAPOR from 1991-1992.

Submission: The author(s) will have had their abstract accepted for presentation to the WAPOR 75th Annual Conference. Authors will then submit their completed papers electronically by the deadline to be announced at a later date. Entries are expected to be approximately 15 to 25 pages in length and may have multiple authors. All authors on an entry must meet the eligibility requirements for the award.

A panel of researchers from WAPOR’s membership–drawn from the academic, government, and commercial sectors–will judge submissions. Competitors will be notified of a decision prior to the start of the annual conference. The committees reserve the right not to give an award.

Past Award Winners

1995 – Francis D. Adu-Poku, Ghana
1996 – Huixin Ke, China
1997 – Gerardo Adrogué, Argentina
1998 – Hyunyi Cho, USA
1999 – Gerardo Adrogué, Argentina
2000 – Jonathan J.H. Zhu, Huailin Chen and Steve Zhongshi Guo, China
2001 – Azra Abdul Cader, Sri Lanka
2002 – None awarded
2003 – Zhongshi Guo, Hong Kong, Weng Hin Cheong and Huailin Chen, Macao
2004 – None Awarded
2005 – Rachel Meneguello, Brazil
2006 – Annie Barbara Chikwanha, South Africa
2007 – Ibrahim Saleh, Egypt
2008 – Tamás Bodor, USA (Budapest)
2009 – Noppadon Kannika, Thailand
2010 – Marcia Cavallari Nunes, Joao F. Resende and Malu Giani, Brazil
2011 – Jantima Kheokao, Thailand
2012 – Thomas Vitiello, Ali Çarkoğlu and Mert Moral, Turkey
2013 – None awarded
2014 – Róbert Péter, Hungary
2015 – María Laura Tagina, Argentina
2016 – Chao Zhang and Shaowei Chen, China
2017 – Natalia Soboleva, Russia
2018 – Anna Efimova and Denis Strebkov, Russia
2019 – Ricardo González, Esteban Muñoz and Josefa Henríquez, Chile
2020 – Mălina Voicu and Ioana Ramia, Romania
2021 – Márcia Cavallari Nunes, Guilherme José Sanches Militão, and Rosi Rosendo, Brazil