This post is also available in: Español (Spanish) Français (French)

Past Presidents

Since 1947, WAPOR has been fortunate to have some of the most prominent names in survey and public opinion research serve as its President. Below is a listing of the men and women who have served. Each made an indelible mark on both the Organization and the people whom the Organization serves.


1947-1948 Jean Stoetzel France
1949-1950 James White UK
1951-1952 John F. Maloney USA
1953-1954 Jan Stapel Netherlands
1955-1956 Leo P. Crespi USA
1957-1958 Bjorn Balstad Norway
1959-1960 Mark Abrams UK
1961-1962 Helen Crossley USA
1963-1964 Karl Georg von Stackelberg West Germany
1965-1966 Leo Bogart USA
1967-1968 Eric da Costa India
1969-1970 Adri Bakker Netherlands
1971-1972 Philip K. Hastings USA
1973-1974 Wim J. de Jonge Netherlands
1975-1976 Juan Linz Spain/USA
1977-1978 Irving Crespi USA
1979-1980 Elisabeth Noelle-Neumann West Germany
1981-1982 Yvan Corbeil Canada
1983-1984 Robert M. Worcester UK
1985-1986 Seymour Martin Lipset USA
1987-1988 Hans Zetterberg Sweden
1989-1990 Frederick C. Turner USA
1991-1992 Elizabeth H. Nelson UK
1993-1994 Philip Meyer USA
1995-1996 Wolfgang Donsbach Germany
1997-1998 Maxwell McCombs USA
1999-2000 Miguel Basanez Mexico
2001-2002 Brian Gosschalk UK
2003-2004 Kathleen Frankovic USA
2005-2006 Esteban Lopez-Escobar Spain
2007-2008 Mike Traugott USA
2009-2010 Thomas Petersen Germany
2011-2012 Tom W. Smith USA
2013-2014 Alejandro Moreno Mexico
2015-2016 Patricia Moy USA
2017-2018 Claire Durand Canada
2019-2020 Marita Carballo Argentina
2021-2022 Timothy Johnson USA