Home » Awards & Prizes

Awards & Prizes

The WAPOR Helen Dinerman Award is presented annually in memory of Helen Dinerman’s scientific achievements over three decades of public opinion research.  The award, given since 1981, honors particularly significant contributions to survey research methodology. This is a career award recognizing a lifetime of service to the profession and the discipline.

Recent winners include: Lars Lyberg, Hans Matthias Kepplinger, and Maxwell McCombs and Donald Shaw.  This past September in Nice, France, the award was presented to Ronald Inglehart for his lifetime contributions and achievements in the field.

Please send suggestions and a few lines of justification by email to WAPOR at renae@wapor.org by March 1, 2015.  The winner will be announced at the WAPOR Annual Conference this coming June in Buenos Aires, following the decision by three past Presidents of WAPOR.

Other prizes given for research papers include:

  • The Elizabeth H. Nelson Prize, for the best paper presented at the annual conference by one or more persons from a society in transition.
  • The Naomi C. Turner Prize, for the best paper presented by a graduate student at the annual conference.
  • The Robert M. Worcester Prize, for the year’s outstanding paper contributed to the International Journal of Public Opinion Research.
  • The Janet A. Harkness Award, for the best paper paper related to the study of multi-national/ multi-cultural/multi-lingual survey research (aka 3M survey research), or to the theory and methods of 3M survey research, including statistics and statistical techniques used in such research at either the WAPOR or AAPOR or WAPOR-AAPOR joint conference.

Past Award Recipients

This post is also available in: Chinese (Simplified), Chinese (Traditional), French, German, Spanish

© 2015 WAPOR All Rights Reserved